be&be is the studio building on the South West side of a heritage listed property in Castlemaine, Central Victoria. ‘Castlehouse’ is a single-storey picturesque Elizabethan house built in two stages between 1866 and 1869 by William Downe, architect and Castlemaine Town Surveyor, on land he acquired in 1866. The first known occupant was George Farroll, a watchmaker who owned the house between 1869 till his death in 1885. His wife remained there till 1892.
The house is constructed of red-brick with a corrugated iron roof. It is unusual in two respects. One its pattern-book Elizabethan form, which uses Flemish gables and castellated bow windows and parapets, and two, its organic plan/form, which is largely a result of the later extension of consisting of a separate room, in a mirror image of the first section, linked by an external enclosed passage. The building is mostly intact, although added to at the rear at various stages. It is of significance for its unusual vernacular use of picturesque Elizabethan detailing in a cottage format. It is also an example of the domestic work of Downe, the designer of the Castlemaine Market, and for its contribution to the historic city of Castlemaine, a gold town notable for its large collection of small but elaborate and varied cottages.